Ongoing Adventures In Chemo: Mental Daffodils

I had to ask Chris to move a vase of daffodils out of the living room because the smell was upsetting my stomach.

The vase was at least five feet away and I’ve never had an especially sensitive nose. Even when I was pregnant, I didn’t suffer from olfactory over-sensitivity. We’ve had daffodils in the house every year, as soon as they’re available; the colour is a nice reminder that brighter days are ahead. Chris has always kept plants and flowers; when I first saw our flat, I was amazed at all the greenery in it. My husband is a wizard at getting plants to grow and flourish. And I like that he always remembers to pick up something seasonal to give the place a little life and colour.

But the daffodils…. Amanda had remarked that something smelled good in the room last night when we were watching TV on the sofa. I figured it was the daffodils and that Amanda had a particularly talented nose (she’s a self-healing mutant, too, but that’s a story for another time).

Today, I didn’t notice the smell right away. After a while, I became aware of a greeny, plant-ish smell and it was poking me in the stomach. Eventually, I realised what it was and asked Chris to take them away.

It’s too bad. “The Daffodils” is one of my favourite poems; “I wandered lonely as a cloud…” In elementary school, we had a music book in which this poem was actually set to music. Never cared for the tune but the words always resonated with me. “They flash upon the inner eye, which is the bliss of solitude. And then my heart with pleasure fills and dances with the daffodils.”

I guess all my daffodils will have to be mental, at least for a while.

Leave a Reply

