Only 15 More Shopping Days––

––until my next visit with the oncologist. Where did the time go? It seemed like only yesterday I was stressing about my pre-Christmas appointment. We ended up having a celebratory Christmas Eve dinner with my wonderful son and his wonderful girlfriend. I have a hell of a lot ahead of me now and it’s all going to be hard work for good fun. I’m looking forward to all of it. I’m thinking about all the hard work I have to do, all the planning, all the writing, all the problem-solving, including problems that haven’t even happened yet. Because concentrating on all those things keeps me from working up a case of what-am-I-gonna-hear-from-the-oncologist-this-time anxiety. A couple of my fellow-travellers have had very good news in the past few months and I concentrate on that, too. Good omens. A rising tide lifts all boats. (Yeah, I know it doesn’t always work that way but when you gotta keep going, you go with whatever you’ve got.) 

Meanwhile, here’s a photo my friend Ellen took of me in Hay on Wye last month. The Silver Fox curls itself with no help from me. The fur coat is totally fake, I promise.

  

17 thoughts on “Only 15 More Shopping Days––

  1. I hope your check up goes well. I expect it will. 🙂

    Isn’t it funny how chemo affects hair? Mine is about a year old now and although it started out curly, it seems to be just the first couple of inches, as the rest is growing back fairly straight.

    Are you going to dye it? I still haven’t dyed mine yet, just haven’t had the energy, but I’ve got two boxes of dye in the bathroom waiting. One in red, the other purple. I hate having grey hair!

    • I’ve considered dyeing my hair but I like the colour so much the way it is. I’ll wait till the novelty wears off. This week, I actually plan to get my hair cut. I’m still in love with the convenience of short curly hair.

      I don’t know if mine will stay curly–often the curl is only temporary but ‘temporary’ can be as long as a year or more, depending––although on what, I don’t know. The utter randomness of these things has given me an increased appreciation for quantum mechanics. Simultaneously a wave and a particle? Been there, done that. In two places at once? Really, who isn’t?

      Damn, now I’ve lost an electron. Yes, I’m sure. In fact, I’m positive. (I’ll be here all week. All the weeks.)

  2. Well, crud. I didn’t know the context. Good luck!


    Doctor : I have some bad news and some very bad news.
    Patient : Well… give me the bad news first.
    Doctor : The lab called with your test results. They said you have
    24 hours to live.
    Patient : 24 hours! My God!! What could be worse?
    Doctor : I’ve been trying to reach you since yesterday.

  3. The hair is great. In fact, that’s just an awesome photo all round! Hope the check up gives you all good news. (Ideally something along the lines of ‘Not only has all trace of the cancer vanished entirely, but you now appear to have become biologically immortal.’ 🙂

  4. My 6-month follow-up is tomorrow. I’ve been blithely bopping along not thinking about it. While they said it was stage I and hadn’t invaded anywhere – still. So I can totally sympathize with your thoughts. I think I’ll wear my “I Kicked Endometrial Cancer’s Ass” tee shirt to the appointment. Do you have iconic what’sits you take to your check-ups? I mean, my “Keep Calm and Trust Science” tee shirt would be just as appropriate, it’s not like I really think a tee shirt is going to change the facts LOL. But mocking cancer is always good, IMO.

    • These days, I show up to appointments wearing either my “Fighting Cancer and Still Fabulous” shirt, or my “I’m making cancer my bitch” shirt. They’re my good-luck charms and they always get a great reception from the doctors, the nursing staff, and my fellow-travellers in the waiting room.

Leave a Reply

